Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician

Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) covers the networking knowledge for entry-level network support positions. Skills demonstrated focus on the installation, management, and troubleshooting of small networks.

Specific topics of CCENT cover:

• Networking Fundamentals
• Basic Wireless Concepts
• Basic Security Concepts
• Routing and Switching
• Simple Network Configurations
• WAN Technologies
Cisco Career Certification has three levels of general certification with several paths available. All Cisco networking starts at an associate level. CCENT is an interim step into the Associate level and is especially useful to individuals with little networking experience.

There are no prerequisite for CCENT and it is not required to proceed with other certifications provided by Cisco. An individual can take the exams for CCNA for network operations and CCDA for network designs. Beyond the Associate level, individuals can move into professional and expert certifications. The highest level of certification is the Cisco Certified Internetworking Expert (CCIE) and the Cisco Certified Design Expert (CCDE).

Paths available for certification from Cisco focus on the specific networking areas, such as:
• Routing and Switching
• Design
• Network Security
• Service Provider
• Storage Networking
• Voice Wireless

CCENT certifications are valid for three years. An individual has several options for recertifying, including:
• Pass either the ICND1 or ICND2 exam
• Pass the current CCNA exam
• Pass a CCNA Concentration exam
• Pass any 642-XXX professional level exam
• Pass a Cisco Specialist Exam
• Pass a current CCIO or CCDE written exam